Information for All
Library Patrons

Contact Us

  • Reference Desk: 303-492-3522
  • Circulation Desk: 303-492-7534
  • Administration: 303-492-4945


All databases

Search for a database [help]

Databases by subject

Top ten user tags [what's that?]

 

All Databases
Access UN
Index provides access to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Covers 1945-. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
AltLaw
Public domain legal search engine. Includes federal cases and the United States Code. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
BNA - All newsletters and databases
Legal, regulatory, economic & international law from the The Bureau of National Affairs. Includes email update services. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
 
Bradford Legal Forms
Online legal forms for Colorado. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
CALI Lessons
Contains over 270 computer-based lessons and tutorials in 28 legal education areas. Law students should see the reference librarian for information on creating a password.

Non-law students and pre-law students may find CALI's learthelaw.org site helpful. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use your password
 
CCH Internet Tax Research Network
The online version of the CCH Standard Federal Tax Reporter, with additional journal and handbook content. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Century of Lawmaking
A Century of Lawmaking brings together the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
PDF available
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Covers higher education news and issues. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Code of Colorado Regulations
The Secretary of State compiles and publishes the administrative rules of the executive agencies of the state of Colorado in the Code of Colorado Regulations. The official Code and Register published pursuant to § 24-4-103(11), C.R.S., can be accessed from this website.

Notices of rulemaking, proposed rules, new and amended rules, and Attorney General rules opinions are published monthly in the companion publication, the Colorado Register. more info...
 

Unrestricted access
 
Colorado Revised Statutes
The Colorado Revised Statutes made available for public use by the Committee on Legal Services of the Colorado General Assembly. Includes the United States Constitution. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
Colorado Register
The official publication of the state administrative rules. The companion publication to the Code of Colorado Regualtions. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
Colorado Rules of Court
From the Colorado Judicial Branch, each year's changes are summarized. Users may also search by keyword or rule number in the C.R.S. database (link provided). more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications
Searchable access to all Colorado Legislative Council Research Publications, legislation related to each publication, and information on performing legislative history research at the state and federal level. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
PDF available
Constitutions of dependencies and territories
Offers expert English translations and commentary on the constitutions of 40 countries and their 170 dependencies and territories, as well as the federal constitutional provisions that define the relationship between a state and its dependencies or territories. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Constitutions of the Countries of the World
Contains the full text of the constitutions of 187 countries. Constitutional scholars who are familiar with the legal system, judicial language and official language of each foreign jurisdiction provide authoritative translations into English. Also includes Constitutions of Dependencies and Territories. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
CQ Electronic Library
CQ Electronic Library features a wealth of information about Congress, lawmaking and policy issues. Full text of CQ Weekly is available. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Current index to legal periodicals
Current awareness service for legal research. Provides subject indexing and listing of tables of contents for more than 570 law journals. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
Dissertations and Theses
Formerly known as Digital Dissertations and Dissertation Abstracts, this database indexes over 2 million master's theses and doctoral dissertations with coverage beginning in 1861. Brief abstracts are included for dissertations since 1980. 24-page PDF previews are available for many titles. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
some PDF available
EBSCOhost Research Databases
EBSCOhost offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers, ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Wise Journal Locator (Law)
Find e-journals in the law library's collection. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
e-Journal Locator (General)
Find e-journals in the University Libraries' collection. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
Encyclopaedia Britannica
The Encyclopaedia Britannica's online service. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
EUR-Lex (European Union Law)
Official Journal of the European Union, and it includes inter alia the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
PDF available
Eurostat
Direct access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the euro-zone and other countries. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
FedStats
FedStats provides easy access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 US Federal Government agencies. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
Foreign Law Guide (Reynolds & Flores)
Provides bibliographic outline of the law and legal systems of non-U.S. countries. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Gale Ready Reference Shelf
Provides integrated access to 350,000+ entries for associations, research centers, publishers, publications (ranging from newspapers and newsletters to periodicals and directories), databases, television and radio stations and more. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
GPO Access
GPO Access provides government information in both text and PDF format. It includes U.S. bills, laws, congressional documents, the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations and thousands of other federal government publications. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
some PDF available
Hein Online
Full text and images of over 1,000 law journals, each from volume 1 to a few years ago. Other materials include U.S. Reports, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, foreign and international resources such as English Reports, U.S. Treaties, world trials, and government documents such as session laws and legislative history. More about HeinOnline. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library
Hein's Treaties and Agreement's Library contains all of the U.S. treaties, whether currently in force, expired, or not yet officially published. Includes United States Treaties and Other International Agreements and sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
Index to Legal Periodicals (1981-date)
Full text of select periodicals, as far back as 1994, in addition to indexing of legal journals, law reviews and monographs. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
some PDF available
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981)
Indexes legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
 
Index to Legal Periodicals (1908-date)
more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
some PDF available
IngentaConnect
Full text or table of contents (depending on subscription) - academic and professional research journals more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
Offers hundreds of top journals in humanities, business and social science in page-image format. Coverage varies by journal, but begins with volume 1 and covers through about 5 years ago. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
LawTRIO Law Publications Database
Fully-searchable database of legal titles combined from three directories: Legal looseleafs in print, Legal newsletters in print, and Directory of law-related CD-ROMs more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
 
LegalTrac (1980-date)
Legal periodical index. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
some PDF available
Lexis
Access to Lexis is by password only. The University provides access to Lexis Academic, a slightly different product, on campus or via VPN. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use your password
 
Lexis Academic
Basic legal research. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Lexis Congressional
Comprehensive index to congressional publications, included full-text of congressional hearings and Congressional Research Service reports. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Lexis Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
he Hearings Digital Collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824 to the present. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
Lexis Congressional Research Digital Collection
Congressional Research Service (CRS) report from 1916- and congressional committee prints from 1830- more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Lexis - Foreign and International Materials
Extensive primary and secondary sources in international law. See this help page for description (select topic: international). more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use your password
 
Lexis State Capital
Bill tracking and full text of state statutes and regulations. Includes a directory of members of state legislatures. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Lexis Statistical
Search over 100,000 statistical tables produced by governments, academics and private firms. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
LLMC Digital
Full text - legal literature and government documents. Search the library's catalog for individual titles by doing a keyword search including "llmc digital" with your term [click for sample]. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
MOML Treatises (Making of Modern Law Legal Treatises)
Fully searchable database of more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal works published from 1800-1926. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
MOML Trials (Making of Modern Law, Trials 1600-1926)
Covers celebrated and historically important trials from America, the British Empire and the world through a wide variety of official vernacular literature, reports and ephemera. Comprised of over 10,000 titles and 2 million pages. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Covers Sept. 14, 1857 - Dec. 31, 2004. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
The New York Times
The publisher's web site covers 1857 - 1922 and 1987 - today. Selected articles are available from 1922 - 1986. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., encompassing the entire 19th century. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The online Oxford English Dictionary is a work in progress. Hundreds of new entries are added every year. The online is the equivalent to the 3rd edition, which will not be issued in print. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
PACER
Public Access to Court Electronic Records. Please see reference librarian for assistance. more info...
 
Password - ask a librarian
some PDF available
PAIS International
Covers global public policy and social issues including health, finance, education, technology, and the environment for the U.S. and abroad. Covers periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Coverage begins in 1972. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides online access to newspapers, including New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Most access if pre-1970s. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
RIA Checkpoint
Tax and financial research. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
 
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Collection 1883-1922
Large scale historical city maps, detailed at the block and building level, that show residential, commercial, and industrial uses of sites, building footprints, potential environmental hazards, and construction details of structures. Map images are in JPEG format. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
 
Shepard's® Citations
An online version of Shepard's Citations allows users to update caselaw and statutes.

An alternative is KeyCite, part of Westlaw Public Access. more info...
 
Password - ask a librarian
 
Source OECD
Provides full-text access to the Organisation For Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) books and periodicals since 1998 and its statistical publications. OECD, with 30 member countries, researches economic and social policy in areas such as macroeconomics, trade, education, science, environment, agriculture, technology, and more. The database includes all annuals, outlooks, policy reviews, conference proceedings, analytical reports, guidelines, and working papers. The books can be browsed by themes or searched. The periodicals section contains the full-text of OECD periodicals from 1998 onwards. The statistical section includes 25 statistical database titles, some including data from 1960 onwards. Statistical tables can be downloaded as Excel or CSV files. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
STAT-USA
The most recent U.S. business, economic and trade information available from many federal agencies and others. The information is divided into two divisions, State of the nation (SOTN) and GLOBUS & NTDB. SOTN includes data on the U.S. domestic economy, in such areas as general economic indicators, housing and construction, employment, manufacturing and industry, monetary statistics and economic policy. GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) offers daily trade leads from the Trade Opportunities Program (TOPS) and the Dept. of Agriculture, daily procurement activity from the Defense Logistics Agency, the United Nations, and the Commerce Business Daily leads. The NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to country commercial guides, market research reports, best market reports and other programs. The International Trade Library is a comprehensive collection of over 40,000 documents related to international trade. All are full text searchable, as well as key word searchable by country or product. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
 
BNA Tax Management Portfolios
Tax Management Portfolios provide one-stop shopping on narrow tax issues. You'll also find links to them in Lawpac. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
 
Treaties and International Agreements Online
Full-text searchable database of all treaties that have been ratified by the U.S., major treaties still in the ratification process, and all tax treaties, even those to which the U.S. is not a party. more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
United Nations Treaty Collection
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946. Includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with translations into English and French, as appropriate. more info...
 
Password - ask a librarian
some PDF available
UNdata
Currently contains more than 55 million records from the UN Statistics Division and other international organizations.

The new UN data access system (UNdata) will improve the dissemination of statistics by UNSD to the widest possible audience. An easy to use data access system was developed that meets UNSD’s vision of providing an integrated information resource with current, relevant and reliable statistics free of charge to the global community. more info...
 

Unrestricted access
 
United Nations Official Document System
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. more info...
 
Unrestricted access
PDF available
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Contains the documents and reports of the United States Congress. (Note, hearings are not included in this set). more info...
 
CU affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
United States Code
The United States Code from the Office of Law Revision Counsel in the U.S. House of Representatives.

An alternative search and browse feature is available from the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School. more info...
 

Unrestricted access
 
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Contains the records and briefs of cases heard by the Supreme Court of the United States. This is an extensive, though not complete, collection. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use VPN
PDF available
Westlaw®
Due to contract restrictions, access is limited to law students, staff and faculty, by password only.
The library has alternatives, including a special Colorado Westlaw package, only available in the library. Please call the reference desk or see the reference librarian for more information. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use your password
some PDF available
Westlaw - Foreign and International Materials
Extensive primary and secondary sources in international law. See this help page for description. more info...
 
Law affiliates only - use your password
 
Westlaw® Public Access
This collection of Westlaw databases includes Colorado primary sources, jury instruction and 10th Circuit caselaw.
Also features a variety of secondary sources like Colorado Practice, American Jurisprudence 2d (AmJur), and West's Legal Forms. KeyCite, West's citator in available for all citations.
[click for full list of databases] more info...
 
Password - ask a librarian
some PDF available

 

 

Connecting from outside
the law building

Most databases are available to CU affiliates from off campus. The first step to using databases from off-campus is to activate the CU VPN client on your computer. [why?]

Some databases are only available to law school affiliates, so you will need to visit the law library if you are not a law student or faculty/staff member. Non-law users will not be able to use these databases from outside of the law building.

A few databases need an institutional password to login - contact the Reference Desk (303-492-3522) for details.

Finally, a few databases are only available by personal password to law affiliates.

You appear to be off campus. If you are a CU affiliate, please activate your VPN connection.

Key to database terms

  • non-law patrons must use this database in the law library (law affiliates use VPN)
  • CU patrons should use VPN to access this database (CU affiliates use VPN)
  • requires a password, please see a librarian
  • passwords only available to law affiliates
  • the database contains page images of all content
  • the database contains page images of some content